MGA Best Bagger Contest

August 27, 2022

The Minnesota Grocers Association (MGA) held its 34th annual statewide Best Bagger Contest on Saturday, August 27, 2022 at the MGA office in St. Paul, MN. Contestants came from all across the state to compete for the title of Minnesota’s Best Bagger. 

This is a fun, fast-paced, and entertaining contest that is important to the MGA and its membership as it showcases the talents of one of the industry’s key employees. Baggers are the people responsible for the last experience customers have in a store, and this contest truly exemplifies the food industry’s dedication to customer service.

The eight participating contestants were judged on speed, style, attitude, proper bag-building technique, and weight distribution between the bags. Contest attendees witnessed the art of “bagging” by some of Minnesota’s best. To showcase the food industry’s commitment to consumer choice and the well-being of the communities we serve, baggers used the ever-popular reusable bag. 

The first place winner in the competition was Tyler Thorvig of Chris’ Food Center, Sandstone, winning $500 cash, a trophy, and a trip to Las Vegas, NV to represent Minnesota at the National Grocers Association Best Bagger Championship in February 2023. Second place receiving a trophy and cash prize was awarded to Aidan Gallagher of Coborn’s, Sartell. Thank you to all of our 2022 Best Bagger contestants for their outstanding efforts, Stephen Brownewell from Fareway, Owatonna; Connor Downs from Hy-Vee, Eagan; Tim Talbot from Jubilee Foods, Mound; Simon Rynders, from Kowalski’s Market, Excelsior; Hattie Herdina from Lunds & Byerlys, Minnetonka; and Kennedy Joiner from Mackenthun’s Fine Foods, Waconia.

Three of the eight baggers were also given Bagger Excellence Awards and a cash prize. The “Traveler” award was granted to Tyler Thorvig of Chris’ Food Center, Sandstone, for traveling the longest distance to the contest, nearly 90 miles. The “Balance” award was captured by Kennedy Joiner of Mackenthun’s Fine Foods, Waconia, whose two bags had only .04 pounds difference between them. Finally, the “Speed” award was awarded to Tyler Thorvig who bagged his two reusable bags in 54.09 seconds.

Tyler Thorvig - Chris' Food Center, Sandstone
2022 Best Bagger Contestants
Aidan Gallagher - Coborn's, Sartell