The MGA Recognizes 2018 Award Winners & Hall of Fame Inductee

The Minnesota Grocers Association has a long-standing tradition of honoring the best of the best by annually presenting awards to those in the industry that demonstrate excellence, have made significant contributions to the industry, and are highly respected by their peers. This year’s award winners are a testament to the vitality of the grocery industry in Minnesota. The awards were presented by MGA Board Chairman, Mark Collier, and MGA President, Jamie Pfuhl on July 29, 2018 at the MGA’s Annual Conference in Brainerd, MN. This is the state’s premier event for the food industry. The evening showcases the pride and tremendous accomplishments of those in the Minnesota food industry and was attended by more than 350 members of the industry.

The 2018 Outstanding Grocer award was presented to Kevin and Roger Brink, owners of Brink’s Market in Chisago City, MN. This award is presented annually to a grocer who has successfully grown a company and is respected by industry peers. The Brink’s have created a thriving business by meeting the changing needs of the communities and have been an active supporter of the association.

Russ Davis Wholesale in Wadena, MN, was honored by the MGA with its 2018 Outstanding Vendor award. This award is given to those who show innovation in customer support, excellence in customer service, as well as involvement in the MGA.  Russ Davis Wholesale works diligently to provide retail partners the best service possible and their commitment and support of the MGA is significant.

Dean Simpson, who retired in 2017 from Dean’s County Market, was inducted into the Minnesota Grocers Association’s Hall of Fame in recognition of his outstanding service and exemplary contributions to Minnesota’s food industry. Simpson has earned respect and admiration for a lifetime of outstanding commitment to the food industry. His outstanding leadership and vision made this induction to the MGA Hall of Fame a well-deserved acknowledgement. 

Back to main news page >>